Home Button  Buy Button 

Topic:   User access rights

By: VincePosted on: May 21 2018 at 09:52:50 AM
On the website it states that it is possible to control/limit user access rights to specific areas with the Enterprise version. I cannot see how to do this in the programme, any pointers would be appreciated.

By: guestPosted on: May 21 2018 at 01:20:45 PM
In the bottom left corner of the Menu > Setup > UAC (User Access Control)

Any user that has ever connected to your MiniMRP has their Windows Login Name (The name they use to log in to Windows) recorded in the UAC users' list.

To begin with all users default to 'Admin' meaning they have permission to read write all areas of the database.

An Admin user can restrict the permissions of other users.

In the UAC setup window you'll see a data grid. One row for each user with the user's name and one column for each area of the database. Clicking in one of the cells and select the option to set that user's permission in that area of the database. "Read", "Write" or "None"

Read mean read only (user can look but not change)
Write means user can read and write that area of the data
None means user has no access at all to that area of the program.

So, for example, a person in your purchasing department should obviously be able to read/write purchase orders and receive deliveries from suppliers but does not necessarily need permission to edit Bills of Materials.

I want to add that this is not intended to be a high level of security. It helps you manage what users should or should not do within MiniMRP. I'm sure you understand that if somebody intentionally wanted to damage your data then they'll find other ways to do that. But, of course, if you employ that kind of person then you have a whole different set of security problems anyway.

By: GuestPosted on: Aug 2 2019 at 08:02:30 AM
Is there a way to prevent users from accessing a particular site? For example, if we have multiple sites, can we allow a user read/write permission for one site, but prevent write for any other sites?

By: SupportPosted on: Aug 2 2019 at 11:44:15 AM
Different permissions in different sites. No. Sorry. Not possible. Nobody ever asked for that before but it is an idea. I've added it to the 'suggestion box'

By: SIRtechPosted on: Oct 18 2019 at 10:48:33 AM
If I were to install a 30 day pro licence on a clients PC, when it expired would they still be able to access web based information as read only. Locking them (their PC) into any permissions granted & allowing me to keep ownership of BOMs etc.. This may be relevant for this topic, as the user name will never appear on other PC, that PC will by definition have its own unique set of permissions ?

Reply - add a comment to this topic.

You may enter letters, numbers and standard punctuation only. HTML and other scripts/tags will be rejected.

Topic:- User access rights


Enter the numbers.

Your name here is optional