We currently have two users with 2 licenses using a shared drive but we found that purchase orders were being lost when 1 user is logging into the program while the other is saving a purchase order. Very odd, it works fine when both people have the program open but if someone is opening the program while the other is in the action of saving something then the "saved item" doesn't save. How long does it take for a file to get saved to a shared drive? Also, Im curious if there is a way to make sure which license is being used on which computer?
Posted on: Jun 19 2023 at 07:26:44 AM
What kind of shared drive are you talking about?
If it's a standard network shared folder - the shared file is on a computer or network storage on your own network - then there is no delay. data is saved immediately.
But if your shared file is a dropbox, googledrive, onedrive then you CAN NOT share a live database - a database where multiple users are writing at the same time - using any of those cloud based file sharing things. This is not a limitation within MiniMRP. It's simply that those file sharing things simply weren't designed for that type of live sharing.
On the other hand, if it's just one user doing some work in the office and then driving home and doing some more work there then dropbox would probably work fine
Posted on: Jun 21 2023 at 07:20:14 AM
We were using Google drive so that was part of the problem :) we are now trying to share it through a local drive (currently sharing Local disc C from one of the computers) and we're now having an issue with the second computer opening MiniMRP. The second computer has full access to the drive on computer 1 but MiniMRP sort of "crashes" when opening it. A message that states "Application error: An unexpected error occurred. You'll need to restart MiniMRP. If the error keeps happening please report it to Support@MiniMRP.com Could not delete from specified tables."
Posted on: Jun 21 2023 at 10:26:57 AM
It sounds like a permissions thing. You say the 2nd user has full permissions on the folder on the 1st computer. But maybe the file itself doesn't have permission for the second user to write to it.