Two quick questions: 1.) I recently upgraded to V5. how do the licenses work? can a single licenses be used on multiple computers and only be active on one at a time. or are they locked to a specific computer (not good)? 2.) Can my old V4 licenses be moved to a new computer?
Posted on: Apr 30 2019 at 02:20:55 AM
The licences are not actually locked to a single computer but any attempt to use the same licence on 2 computers at the same time can lead to users being disconnected possibly causing data loss.
Yes. Your v4 licence can be moved to a new computer on the assumption that the licence is removed/not used on the old computer.
When you install a licence on the new computer you may see a message saying that the licence key has been used before but you can ignore that provided you don't continue using it on the old computer.
Posted on: May 9 2019 at 10:09:24 AM
I would like to add a PC for a new user on to our V4 shared database. Can I buy a new license for V4 or will a new V5 license allow us to run the new PC with V4 until we are ready to upgrade all our stations to V5?
Our users prefer to stay with V4 a little longer...
Posted on: May 9 2019 at 01:07:29 PM
No reason to update if v4 is working for you.
If you purchase a v5 licence then that licence key will work fine on v4.
Install v4 on the new computer if you didn't do that already. You can go through checkout to buy v5 and you'll receive a v5 licence key. That key will work with v4.
The advantage of using a v5 licence key is that one day when you do eventually decide to upgrade to v5 you can reuse that same key and not need to buy an upgrade for that machine.
Reply - add a comment to this topic.
You may enter letters, numbers and standard punctuation only. HTML and other scripts/tags will be rejected.